2020 election guide – information – candidate endorsements – ballot propositions

Non-partisan voter guide: What’s on the ballot, where to vote – votersedge.org

Find your vote center and drop-off locations.

And read our own Helpful Hints for Voters


The La Mesa-Foothills Democratic Club endorses the following candidates in the 2020 election.

Notes: In elections where Democrats oppose Democrats, we do not choose sides. We rate Democrats opposing each other as “qualified.”
Asterisks (*) designate incumbents.

For recommendations and information on the numerous ballot initiatives, see here: Dem club proposition recommendations

Federal Offices


Joe Biden

Congressional Representatives

District 49: Mike Levin*
District 50: Ammar Campa Najjar
District 51: Juan Vargas*
District 52: Scott Peters*
District 53: Georgette Gómez and Sara Jacobs, qualified

State Offices

State Senate

District 39: Toni Atkins*

State Assembly

District 71: Elizabeth Lavertu
District 75: Kate Schwartz
District 76: Tasha Boerner Horvath*
District 77: Brian Maienschein*
District 78: Chris Ward and Sarah Davis, qualified
District 79: Shirley Weber*
District 80: Lorena Gonzalez*

Superior Court Judge

Seat 30: Tim Nader

County Offices

Board of Supervisors

District 1: Ben Hueso and Nora Vargas, qualified
District 3: Terra Lawson-Remer

Board of Education

District 1: Gregg Robinson
District 2: Guadalupe Gonzalez

Educational Districts

Chula Vista Elementary School Board

Seat 2: Kate Bishop
Seat 4: Laurie Humphrey*

Del Mar Union School Board

Erica Halpern*

Escondido Union School Board

Area 1: Doug Paulson*
Area 3: Joe Muga*

Grossmont Cuyamaca Community College Board

Area 3: Julie Schorr
Area 4: Elena Adams

Grossmont Union High School Board

Area 1: Chris Fite*
Area 2: Elva Salinas*

Lemon Grove School Board

Trustee: Blanca Brown*

Mira Costa Community College Board

Area 3: Jacqueline Simon*
Area 5: George Mc Neil*

National School Board

Barbara Avalos*
Brian Clapper*

Palomar Community College Board

District 2: Nina Deerfield*

San Diego Community College Board

District B: Bernie Rhinerson*
District D: Mary Graham*

San Diego Unified School Board

District A: Sabrina Bazzo
District D: Richard Barrera*
District E: LaWana Richmond, Sharon Whitehurst-Payne

San Ysidro School Board

Irene Lopez*
Antonio Martinez*

South Bay School Board

Barbara Elliott- Sanders*

Southwestern Community College Board

Seat 1: Griselda Delgado*
Seat 3: Roberto Alcantar*

Sweetwater Union Highschool Board

Seat 4: Nicholas Segura*

Vista Unified School Board

Area 4: Cipriano Vargas*

Municipal Offices


City Council District 2: Lela Panagides
City Council District 4: Teresa Acosta

Chula Vista

City Council Seat 3: Steve Padilla*
City Council Seat 4:Andrea Cardenas


City Council: Whitney Benzian*

El Cajon

Mayor: Arnold Levine
City Council: Estela De Los Rios, Stephanie Harper


Mayor: Catherine Blakespear*
City Council District 1: Tony Kranz
City Council District 2: Kellie Hinze


City Council District 3: Dara Czerwonka, Don Greene
City Council District 4: Linda Stanwood

Imperial Beach

City Council District 2: Mark West
City Countil District 4: Matt Gonzalez

La Mesa

City Council: Colin Parent*, Jack Shu

Lemon Grove

Mayor: Raquel Vasquez*
City Council: David Arambula*

National City

City Council: Marcus Bush, Gonzalo Quintero, Jose Rodriguez


Mayor: Rob Howard, Ruben Major, Esther Sanchez , qualified
City Council District 3: Amber Newman
City Council District 4: Michelle Gomez, Jane Marshall


City Council District 2: Phil Factor

San Diego

Mayor: Todd Gloria and Barbara Bry, qualified
City Attorney: Mara Elliott*
City Council District 1: Joe LaCava and Will Moore, qualified
City Council District 3: Stephen Whitburn and Toni Duran, qualified
City Council District 5: Marni von Wilpert
City Council District 7: Raul Campillo

San Marcos

City Council District 3: Alan Geraci

Solana Beach

City Council: Jewel Edson, David Zito


City Council District 2: Elizabeth Perez
City Council District 3: Katie Melendez

Other Districts

Helix Water Board

District 1: Dan McMillan*
District 3: Mark Gracyk*

Otay Water Board

Division 2: Mitch Thompson*

Palomar Health Board

Jeff Griffith*

South Bay Irrigation Board

Division 2: Jose Cerda*
Division 3: Jose Preciado*

Tri-City Healthcare Board

Leigh Anne Grass*

Vallecitos Water Board

Division 5: Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson

%d bloggers like this: